3x3x3 Perfect Guitar Rig

I’ve seen a couple of recent blog posts and forum threads talking about top lists of classic guitars, amps and pedals, and at the same time, in the same places, people talking about uncluttering their rigs. That set me thinking about what my ideal rig would be – restricting myself to three amps, three guitars and three pedals. I’m also going to restrict myself to freely available gear; no customs, boutique or limited numbers stuff. So here are mine:

Guitars

Gretsch G6120DSV
dsv12

Fender Telecaster Standard
tele

Gibson Les Paul Goldtop 56 Reissue
goldtop

Amps

Fender Priceton Reverb Recording
princeton

Roland Jazz Chorus JC-120
jc120

Marshall 1962 Bluesbreaker
bluesbreaker

Pedals

Dunlop Crybaby Wah
crybaby

Fulltone OCD Overdrive
ocd

Strymon El Capistan Delay
elcapistan

Now I want to hear about your perfect 3x3x3 rig. Go!

6 thoughts on “3x3x3 Perfect Guitar Rig

  1. Hmm, tricky. I’ll say:

    Guitars: Tele, Taylor G3 and Music Man Axis
    Amps: Mesa Boogie Mark 5, Marshall JVM and Orange Dual Terror
    Effects: Line 6 DL6, Pigtronix Philosopher’s Tone, an overdrive (maybe the OCD)

    • Cool list Steve but I’d have thought your Gordon Smith would feature. It is a cracking machine and a perfect foundation for a stripped back collection.

  2. Always a tricky one to pair it down. Would go for a Parker Fly Deluxe, PRS custom 22, & a tele. Amps: Twin; AC 15 & a Hughes & Kettner Tubemeister 36. F/X Duh Voodoo Man Zonkin’ Yellow Screamer, mxr stereo chorus, & a reverb pedal – happy with my Boss digital reverb. I’m assuming this is just for electrics, other wise I’d have to change a few selections

    • Oh yes, definitely electric only. And for me the real “perfect” collection would need to add a Martin OOO 28, Martin D28-12 , a Keeley Compressor, and an MXR 90 Phase.

      • I’ve got a mxr Zakk Wylde Phase 90. The dude in the guitar shop practically gave it to me (£40), otherwise I’d bought a standard one. Never owned a compressor pedal. I’d like to add a delay too. Oh and a etc etc

      • The lack of acoustic made me plump for the Parker. I’ll have a Gibson LC-2 Sonoma (if you can find me one) as my acoustic please.

Leave a Reply

