New overdrive pedal arrives. Behold the Blue Alpaca!

I posted recently about the overdrive pedal that my good friend, Alfie, had made for me. Today it arrived. In the flesh this thing is a real beauty; put together by a craftsman.

I hadn’t expected the personalised baseplate that Alfie added.

Nor was I prepared for the very clean way he added the LEDs to the case. When they’re off you can’t see the LED at all. Switch it on and they glow brightly through the bronze finish.

Of course, none of this beauty matters if it sounds crap, but that is certainly not the case. I’ve only played with it for an hour so far, but it is as close to my perfect overdrive as anything I’ve ever plugged into. It covers the bases from mild and creamy through to biting almost fuzz-like. The tone and hump controls are very subtle. The tone on most pedals leaves you with a 20-30% range of the adjustment between the extremes of what is usable. The tone of the Blue Alpaca is useable right through the range. As will be expected, I’ll be putting my recording where my mouth is, but I’m going to spend a day or two getting to know my new baby first. Patience is a virtue, right?

2 thoughts on “New overdrive pedal arrives. Behold the Blue Alpaca!

  1. That’s a cool-looking pedal, even if it isn’t blue.

    Have fun with it and I look forward to hearing from it.

  2. Woohoo, its arrived!!!! Glad you like it!

    for a second i was wondering if the plane cost lost during transit 😉

Leave a Reply

