If {this} then {that}

Over this last couple of days I’ve been playing with an interesting web app called “If This Then That”. You can find them at http://www.ifttt.com/.

Imagine if all of the developers of social networks and web applications had all got together, right at the start, and designed their stuff to work with everybody else’s cool apps. That is is how I visualise IFTTT. It just links the stuff together, in your control, and makes it appear like it was supposed to work together. Some of the jobs I’ve already got it doing for me as I test it out are;

  • When I publish a new blog post it also publishes it to my Tumblr account, makes a note in Google Calendar (so that I can track my post dates) and saves a copy of it in Evernote.
  • If I “like” a post on Google Reader, it puts a copy of that in Evernote. If I “star” it in Google Reader it shares it with my friends on Facebook.
  • If there is a guitar going for sale on Craigslist in Liverpool for less than £150 it sends me an email.
  • If I post a new video on youtube, it shares that on Tumblr too.

All in all I’m very impressed, particularly the ease with which I can funnel interesting stuff into Evernote, my note taking/searching app of choice.

It is missing integration with Google Docs and Google Plus, which I’m hoping will be arriving shortly, but it is definitely worth checking out.

2 thoughts on “If {this} then {that}

  1. Sounds cool. I always think I’ll use tools like this, but don’t seem to get around to it. I got excited over Yahoo Pipes a while back, but haven’t found a real need to use it. Maybe I’m too stuck in my ways.

  2. I have seen it described as a pretty and simple version of Yahoo Pipes.

Leave a Reply

