Preparing the Jazzmaster neck

Today I got all the parts ordered.

I managed to find some 7mm x 1.5mm black plastic binding at http://www.luthierssupplies.co.uk/

The strap buttons, 500k pots, an on/on/on toggle switch, and two knurled chome knobs with a black pearl top inlay, from http://axesrus.co.uk/

Lastly I called up Joel at Shanghai Guitars and ordered the pair of chrome Filtertrons. Joel is a top bloke and we spoke for about 45 mins – covering subjects as diverse as Airline/Eastwood guitars, the geography of Kansas, Oklahoma and Missouri, how weird Canadians are (in a good way) and the guitar shops of Frankfurt.

The proper work has continued. Today it has been all about the neck. First I drilled the headstock holes out to 9mm. This picture shows the rather nice curl on the maple that was hidden under the black lacquer.

I used a Stanley knife to cut grooves into a piece of 9mm dowel. This is because it is a fairly tight fit into the holes in the headstock and I want to make sure the glue doesn’t all get squeezed out. I trimmed them into six lengths and chamfered one end.

I tapped them in with a soft-faced mallet.

After allowing them to dry I trimmed the excess and sanded them flush.

Using the table saw I cut two thin strips of sapele veneer from one of the body offcuts. I cleaned up the centre edges with a Stanley knife, stuck them together with Sellotape…

…and then glued and clamped them to the headstock.

After the clamps came off I trimmed the headstock to shape on the bandsaw and sanded the edges smooth.

The next job was to drill the new holes for the tuners. I marked up the headstock and drilled a 2mm pilot hole for each right through. Then, from the front, I drilled an 8mm hole 6mm deep for the tuner ferrule. From the back I drilled a 6mm hole right through for the tuner post.

I mounted the tuners to test the position. Here it is from the back…

…and from the front.

Here are the neck and body together, showing the matching body and headstock.

One thought on “Preparing the Jazzmaster neck

  1. Looks fantastic! And thanks for the instructions on how to fill the holes. I should be following your example in the near future!

Leave a Reply

