Minibass: Cavity cover and prep for Danish oil

Before I got started I took a picture of the minibass being held by my son, to give an idea of just how small this thing is.

So putting yesterday’s theory into practice, after a number of test runs on MDF I worked out a slightly different approach. I use the same technique but, rather than cutting the shapes into the final timber I cut them into MDF and then used those as templates for routing with the top bearing cutter. Here’s the main cavity.

I drilled the hole for the barrel style jack socket.

I laid paper over the cavity and using the old schoolboy brass-rubbing technique, traced the cavity shape onto the paper, so that I could draw the shape of the cover itself.

The paper shape was transferred to MDF.

This MDF master was then used to create an oversize template.

Using the different sized collars, I then used the oversized template to cut a male and female template.

Using the female template I routed the lip into the body.

And with the male routed the shape into an offcut of sapele.

Perfect? Not quite, but better than my previous attempts by a large margin.

So after giving the whole thing a good sand, and cleaning up my work area, it was time to apply the Danish oil.

Tomorrow I’ll continue applying light coats of Danish oil and start work on the changes to the preamp. Currently it has the volume and tone surface mounted to the PCB. I need to desolder these and run wire from PCB to pots, so that I can fit everything into the cavity and have the volume and tone where I want them.

2 thoughts on “Minibass: Cavity cover and prep for Danish oil

  1. Looks great! Once again I am very impressed by the Danish oil finish. Very nicely done.

    • Thanks. It is my first try at using it for a neck finish. I’m not sure how well it’ll hold up. Finger’s crossed!

Leave a Reply

