Carving the body of the custom bass

When it comes time to carve wood I have found that the combination three different tools works very well for me. A flat and half-round rasp, a hand-drill with a spindle sanding drum loaded with 60 grit paper, and cabinet scrapers. The hand drill is great for removing large volumes of wood quite quickly. It is a bit of a crude and unwieldy beast so is not suited for fine work or in tight areas – particularly round the neck pocket where there are a couple of sharp fragile corners that would be easily damaged. For these areas I use the rasps. Once the wood is close to the shape I want I’ll smooth the area with the cabinet scraper, and then sandpaper and a sanding block.

The front view.

And the rear.

There is further work to do on the neck heel, but this will be after the neck is glued in place. I can’t glue the neck in before the pickup cavity is routed, so I’m waiting for that to arrive before I can make further progress.

Here are the pickup and bridge that I’ve ordered for it.

2 thoughts on “Carving the body of the custom bass

  1. That’s looking like a comfortable and stylish bass. Going for an oil finish again?

    • I’m really pleased with how it is shaping up. Yes, this one will get a Danish oil finish too. I think it really brings out the best of the sapele and I’m hoping it’ll look even better on this more contoured body.

Leave a Reply

