Voodoo Telecaster: Finished

Well yesterday I ran out of patience. The VOC smell had gone and I couldn’t mark the lacquer when pressed in the pickup rout with a fingernail, so it got sanded back with 1200 and then 1500 and polished with a auto paint restorer followed by a good thick coating of wax polish.

Late yesterday and today I got it setup close to how I like but I’ll leave the neck under tension for a couple of weeks before finalising the truss rod adjustment and the nut slots.

After playing it for a couple of hours I’ve decided that I’m not 100% happy with the neck profile. That’s the beauty of the Danish oil finish though. I’ve just been able to break out the cabinet scrapers and reprofile the neck. I’ll play it for a few more hours tonight to see how it feels and, if I’m happy with it, refinish the neck tomorrow.

3 thoughts on “Voodoo Telecaster: Finished

  1. Let me be the first to say, GREAT JOB! It looks great! Love the angled and backwards headstock. Love the hardware. Very inspiring!

    I am curious about the reshaping the neck and refinishing it. Would you post some pics of what you reprofiled on the neck and then your process for refinishing it? Also, how do you like the different finishes from the top of the body and the back of the body?

    • Thanks! I’ll make sure I take some pictures as I do it. It is relatively simple though. Remove wood with a cabinet scraper. Test and repeat until happy. Sand to 320 grit, Reapply Danish oil. Done!

      As regards the difference between the front and back finishes, I prefer the feel of the oil finish on the back/neck, but the stain and nitro lacquer on the front do look good.

  2. I’m thinking of doing my entire next project guitar in a Danish oil finish. Hmm. More plans to be laid.

Leave a Reply

