Preparing the Telecaster for finish

Today I double-checked that the veneer repair looked ok, and then sanded the body with 180 and then 240 grit paper, making sure I removed all of the swirls and marks left by the rougher paper.

Next I dry fitted all of the components and made sure all of the pilot holes had been drilled. I had missed a couple of the scratchplate holes and forgotten all about the strap buttons; easily corrected.

I’d also forgotten to leave my mark on the guitar, so put that to rights with a permanent marker.

Next up was raising the grain front and back. I love this stage because it is the first opportunity to see what the grain is going to look like when the finish goes on.

I’m now just warming up the Danish Oil ready for the first coat…

Leave a Reply

