Taking screenshots of a Galaxy S using Ubuntu

I’ve been trying to acquire screenprints from my Galaxy S to illustrate a post about the excellent Tasker app (to follow). It took me a while to get this working and so I thought it would be worth documenting the steps, to hopefully help anyone else following in these footsteps.

First off, I followed the guide at MakeTechEasier to install the Android SDK and get Eclipse set up.

When I fired up ddms, my phone wasn’t showing up. I then found this thread at UbuntuForums.

So I edited /etc/udev/rules.d/51-android.rules and added the following line;

SUBSYSTEMS==”usb”, ATTRS{idVendor}==”04e8″, ATTRS{idProduct}==”681c”, MODE=”0666″

I found the Vendor and Product ID at http://www.linux-usb.org/usb.ids

A simple “reload udev”, plug the phone in, start ddms and, hey-presto, screenshots galore.

Leave a Reply

