Shaftesbury Les Paul: Gold top finished

Dragged myself out of bed early when I saw that it was a perfect day for spraying outdoors (warm and with a very light breeze). Immediately got cracking and got finished quite quickly.

Was particularly pleased with the result of Steve Robinson’s suggestion to let the last coat of gold gently drop onto the surface from a distance. This really brought the sparkle out. The picture doesn’t quite do it justice (do they ever) but I’m delighted with it so far.

I don’t think I’ve mentioned it yet, but one of the pieces of advice I received was to make sure the aerosol cans were warm, to ensure that the paint flows easily. I did this by letting the can stand in a bowl of “hand hot” water for 10-15 mins before each coat.

Leave a Reply

