Guitar finished and shipped

So along the way, Steve Benford sends me loads of pictures as the build progresses. You can have a look at these on my flickr stream.

Then I get word from Steve that it has been finished and it is being left “to settle” for a couple of days before a final setup. Steve puts up the pictures of the finished guitar on his gallery. Another few emails to and fro and we settle on calling it “The Lestercaster”.

Seeing these final pictures, and getting the tracking number from Steve has just brought it home to me how close my dream guitar is now. As someone has pointed out to me, I’m like a kid on Christmas Eve because there’s every chance that it’ll get delivered today, although Santa doesn’t get stopped by customs. I’ve tentatively booked a day off work next Monday, because if it is has arrived I will not be able to tear myself away from it. [many thanks to Martin for planting that idea – good call!]

And for anyone who is interested, here are the specs that I agreed with Steve;

Body: London Plane (supplied by me) in a Telecaster shape with a natural oil finish. Carve for my forearm and beer belly and countersunk controls a la PRS.

Neck: Mahogony glued/set neck. 24.75″ scale with a 12″ profile and ebony fingerboard with no fret markers on the face. Dunlop 6130 fretwire. Neck profile is probably best described as a fat/medium depth with a slight “V”.

Hardware: Grover 18:1 locking machine heads. Graphtech nut. Tune-o-matic bridge and stop tailpiece. Knurled Telecaster style knobs. All hardware is black.

Electrics: a pair of Seymour Duncan P-Rails pickups with EMG style matt black covers (love the look but not the sound of EMGs). Master volume and tone both with push/pull switches. Both down for humbuckers in series. Tone pulled up for single coils. Volume pulled up for P90s. Both pulled up for humbuckers in parallel.

2 thoughts on “Guitar finished and shipped

  1. Update: Well it is now 17:45 on the Friday evening so fair guess that it won’t be arriving today. Fingers crossed for Monday…

  2. Update: At 08:00 this morning there is a knock on the front door and I hear my wife talking to a delivery driver. I quickly jump out of bed, heart in my mouth, and start to dance round the bedroom. Turned out to be replacement parts for our vacuum cleaner that Lorna ordered last week. Hmph!

Leave a Reply

